Rubber band typeface – next step and feedback

So here we are, 2 weeks later and yet another unfinished project in my hands, but this time much more pleased with my outcomes. We had a meeting last Wednesday as a brief review but I had the chance to show my ideas for the FUSE project. It turned out that people were interested in my idea, the way I became so familiar with the rubber band and the gestures I do with my hands. I was encouraged to go beyond my hands and try it with my body, or even buildings, also it would be a good idea to remove the rubber bands and leave only the gestures, as I’m more interested in the movement than the actual material I’m using.

Other things I should consider:

-set rules: big bands or small? just me or bring more people in?

-“How fast can you type?”

One interesting thing I discovered is that different people make the letters in a different way. I”m intrigued to give to random people rubber bands and ask them to form the letters

These are some images I tried with big rubber bands created by putting together many small ones. A choreography can be made if the rubber bands are removed.
Photo on 2013-01-11 at 11.41 #2

Photo on 2013-01-11 at 15.07 #3

I was also thinking to create letters by stretching these rubber bands in spaces like here:

photo

So here’s what I presented today:

I took photograph of all the letters, going through decisions of really basic legibility issues (mostly in the way I was creating the letters – how they could be more recognisable by everyone).

These are the letters created with rubber bands

composition with rubber bands

And these are the letters created… without the rubber bands!

composition without rubber bands

The last composition seems really funny and interesting, communicating the structure of language, becoming choreographical and performative. I also have some videos showing my hands creating the letters with the rubber bands and without them:

Without from Savvas Zinonos on Vimeo.

With from Savvas Zinonos on Vimeo.

I’ve also created the alphabet with a second person here:

Interactive alphabet from Savvas Zinonos on Vimeo.

Part of my experimentation was also playing something like cat’s cradle with a second person – communicate through a string. It was very interesting to see the progress of this communication especially when the string started creating a knot until it was so difficult to take it off our hands. Unfortunately the video is so long that my vimeo doesn’t allow me to upload it now – I will upload at a later stage and replace it with the images below:

Screen shot 2013-01-16 at 16.50.46 Screen shot 2013-01-16 at 16.50.54 Screen shot 2013-01-16 at 16.51.02 Screen shot 2013-01-16 at 16.51.11 Screen shot 2013-01-16 at 16.51.23 Screen shot 2013-01-16 at 16.51.36 Screen shot 2013-01-16 at 16.51.46 Screen shot 2013-01-16 at 16.51.56 Screen shot 2013-01-16 at 16.53.26 Screen shot 2013-01-16 at 16.53.43 Screen shot 2013-01-16 at 16.54.15 Screen shot 2013-01-16 at 16.54.46 Screen shot 2013-01-16 at 16.54.54

 

Feedback:

People at the crit responded very well to the video with my hands creating the letters without the rubber bands. I was encouraged to look at the consistency of the gestures, and make them even more powerful. Also I shall make the movements of each letter not just show the gesture like I do for some of them.

 

How would a conversation be constructed with these gestures?

Power of movement/ Choreographical.

Leave a Reply

